Art, Photography

Moonstruck

Every now and again you come across something that so strongly evokes memories of the person or kid you once were it sort of hurts.

Often these things are just tiny fleeting snapshots and fairly inconsequential to the world outside. For me it’s things like apple slices with peanut butter (a favourite childhood snack); the scent of Clarins’ Eau Dynamisante (the perfume my Mother used to wear) or my Father’s cologne; old Beach Boys songs; the sound of Alistair Cooke’s voice reading Letter from America and the theme from the British World Service. All these things – and many more – make up my personal history and like many people, it’s things that remind me of being a very, very young child that pull on my heartstrings the most.

The following series created by Russia-based artist Leonid Tishkov and photographer Boris Bendikov called ‘Private Moon’ is one such lovely example: a fairy tale about a man who found the Moon and stayed with her for the rest of his life set against enormous twilight panoramas. It reminds so much of a book my parents used to read to me when I was tiny called ‘Goodnight Moon’ and the magical place the sky at night holds in a young child’s heart.

{More photos here}

Standard

6 thoughts on “Moonstruck

  1. Pingback: Lights Behind Curtains « red nails and teacups

Leave a Reply

