Music

Songs To Make You Smile: 12 – 16 September

Despite being glad to get up early this week – some beautifully clear, crisp Autumnal mornings have characterised my journey to work – I’m pretty happy it’s Friday. I need some sleep and a proper breakfast (with bacon. There is no such thing as a proper breakfast without bacon). However, it being Friday and all means it’s a Youtube anthology of Songs To Make You Smile on this blog (the more I think about that title, the more I’m certain it looks like a cheesy CD set you might pick up at a motorway service station, along with ‘Housework Hits’, ‘Ultimate Girls Night Out’ and ‘Summer Love Songs’).

I’ve tried to keep the tunes varied, so as not to fall into some trap where I only play potential First-Dance-At-Wedding songs, or alternatively, geek soundtracks that remind me of my youth (speaking of geeks, have you seen this awesome photoshop of the BT Tower as a lightsaber? Incredible), though I now realise I have included not one but two soundtracks. Oops. In fairness, The Fonz did get an OBE (‘Aaaay!’) so I’d urge you to play Thursday’s selection twice. And yes, Bon Jovi is there. He’s singing Always. It’s gloriously, perfectly self-indulgent. And I still want that black and white hat. London Fashion Week attendees: sue me.

Happy listening and happy Friday!

Monday: Wheatus – Teenage Dirtbag

Tuesday: The theme from ‘Indiana Jones and the Raiders of the Lost Ark’

Wednesday: The Magnetic Fields – Luckiest Guy on the Lower East Side

Thursday: The theme from ‘Happy Days’

Friday: Bon Jovi – Always

Standard

Leave a Reply

